top of page

It's Time To Declutter The Boutique

My boutique was a mess and I didn't even know why. I just had too much stuff!!




The one thing about running a boutique is that you do have a lot of overstock clothing.



Decluttered at last!


There are ways and tips to declutter in a less stressful way because decluttering can be very stressful, time consuming and easy to put off..”

It’s decluttering time here at the boutique, I'm decluttering as you can see in the pictures below is of clothing that I will be donating to charity to make room for some new services at the boutique. The one thing about running a boutique is that you do have a lot of overstock clothing. I save those overstock leftovers to donate to charity for tax write-off at the end of the year which is really good because I'm helping somebody else to the clothing and I'm also getting a tax write-off at the same time, however de-cluttering is the last thing I wanted to do at this time to be honest at anytime, as we all know in order to declutter and there's a mess around and my boutique right now, I have several sells going on I have special orders going on but however I am loving every minute of being self-employed.


In the picture below here you will see there is a shopping cart with a green bag full of clothing ready for charity that help women and children yes it's full of little kids and women clothes however, before I can donate the items I have to go through the item and record them and tag them because this is how this nonprofit would like to clothes to be donated so that's a eight hour job which will take up my Sunday but you know it's better than just having lots of green bags laying around the boutique like it is right now. Oh did I forget to say I have a pile of clothing and accessories for the flea market which I do at least once or twice a month to get rid of Excess inventory.





Why is decluttering important?


Decluttering makes your world brighter and lighter.”


First let's talk about why decluttering is an important and necessary event that needs to happen in our lives. Let’s talk about why it is important to try to close. Decluttering helps with anxiety, depression, the feeling of overwhelming and the feeling of being , stuck unhappy you can't see your way the mess your in right and in my case it’s my boutique and decluttering is my way to have a sense of peace, safety, a way to keep on track with my inventory and keep my customers safe and shopping in a peaceful environment.




What’s benefits of Decluttering?

Decluttering clothes is what help you truly appreciate the pieces that you keep it make you feel better about the space you live in my case as a boutique owner is really hard to limit the amount of garments I buy wholesale but, however the first step to keeping the Clutter down is an important lesson I learned over this last past year is to be more selective about the garments I purchased for my Boutique and for my customer base I no longer purchase garments, shoes, accessories and handbags because they're cute because things don't sale because they cute so in essence de-cluttering is really a helper to to keep your business your closet your room your car clothing clean I hope you can understand what I'm saying because you know decluttering is one of those task or event that take time and patience as women we have personal attachment to clothing even in a business setting. So in essence what I'm doing right now with the boutique is purging.


The benefits of me decluttering:


The benefits of decluttering is you can find things quicker, you have space for customers to move around, it’s easier to control prevention, which keeps you on top of your inventory now as a boutique owner and simplifies my life.

!

So Below this section you will find a picture of the shopping card with green bags that’s ready for pick up today and I'm so glad it left the area open and it really really did wonders for me personally, it allow me to feel like I got something completed today with my task of decluttering my Boutique hey hey hey hey y'all is done one down three more to go.


I have 3 more pickups which will happen Monday and Tuesday you guys and then by Friday I'll be able to show you how the store really look-like after decluttering with all the giveaways and going to the flea market. It's a really beautiful space.


Now let's get to what you really want to know how do you create a plan to declutter and be successful at it, first of all you cannot beat yourself up because this didn't happen in one day and you’re not going to declutter in one day we take baby steps, set a time to date. First thing first let me give you guys a list of how I do it and how I have completed this and then I'm going to be posting some of my tricks of the trade.


Hell it’s time to declutter the boutique I have some simple very simple simple simple easy baby step decluttering for my Boutique because it can become overwhelming for me and it will take forever and which I don't have forever because we doing a relaunch of the boutique for June 28, 2022 so I have some things I need to get done but I need to be efficient and happy few less stressful moments, okay so let's get into my little tips and tricks of the trade.



Tips for Decluttering


Here's a few tips that I have learned throughout the years that help when I need to declutter Since I'm decluttering clothes in a boutique is very much a needed job from season to season however decluttering clothing is one of the hardest things women can do, we have personal attachment to clothing (just look in you closet and see the story of your clothing).


To get started with the decluttering process the first thing I come up with is a mood board in order for me to come up with a plan of action to make this process less stressful, overwhelming and t depression free. The plan is to declutter and feel good about it and the mood board and music play a big role in this process.



You said what’s a move board? It's a visual presentation or a presentation of a set of pictures That conveys a feeling or an idea. My mood board is to create that feeling of happiness, joy, peace and harmony while I’m decluttering.

My 3 step method to decluttering my Boutique:


#1. On the list to do is to create a mood board that represents my feelings and ideas for decluttering.


#2. Find an open space to place the Garments or clothing that you're decluttering, giving away to Charities or selling at the flea market. I place a table in the middle of the boutique floor so I can see how much product I really have to get rid of. Making a Space allows me to see visually that decluttering is needed, an open space allows me to sort the clothing.


#3. Sorting through everything, taking inventory of each garment and having green garbage bags to put garments in as I sort through them, so in essence I have three bags one for a treatment program, one for a charity and one for the flea market but to be honest it be like two or three bags of each, you get what I'm talkin about have been sorting through things to make sure you’re donating that right garment or clothing to the right place, I don't want to be donating a pair booty shorts to know clean and sober program t so that's why sort through things is very important for me.. Sorting through the garments or clothing also give you sometime to say goodbye to the garments or clothes because as women we have a bond with the clothing accessories shoes coat that's in our space.


In the donation bag for the treatment program I place pants, shirts, bras, underwear, jackets, sweaters and baby.

In the donation bag I place everything that is not going to be sold at the flea market..

In the flea market bag everything else can be sold at a very low discount price..


#4. Make sure to call the charities that day before just to remind them of the pick-up schedule.

Schedule two Sunday’s for the flea market.


#5. For those of you that are attempting to declutter a living space and have busy lives I suggest the 12-12-12 decluttering system.


Here’s how it worked for me:


Everyday for 12 days I find:


12 items to throw away

12 items to donate

12 items to return to guess who left there belonging at my apartment

12 items my grandkids no longer need and donate or trash them

12 items to return to the proper place in my apartment ( now this one gets me every time, how can I move some many items in my apartment and place somewhere else).


Now I just want to say for all the Crafters the 12 days the 12 items really work for me because sometimes I'll be working with vinyl for 3 or 4 days straight and I really don't have time to pick up all of those little pieces of vinyls off the floor and stuff like that so if I do the 12 thing add a throw away it really work for me cuz you know vinyl scraps can add up to be honest or the thread for making a pillows, dresses and all that can really add up especially if you have a whole life during the day so I do want to say that even trying to 12 - 12 - 12 decluttering system will work great for all my crafter. (let me know how it worked out for you in the comment section)





In closing I just wanted to say talking about decluttering is much easy then do it, believe me I know before finding the 12x12x12 decluttering system I would just say it can wait until the weekend but one weekend turned in to two weekends and two weekend turned into three weekends and before I knew it, I have a real mess on my hand feeling of overwhelmness, depression and anxiety will come over me not saying that I got everything together either because I fall short but however it's not as bad as it used to be.


Please feel free to level a comment, questions or if you would like to see a topic on my blog let me know.


Tracy’s Business, Tracy’s Blog

“that’s what I’m talking about y’all”


tracy-phillips.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

My Life, My Business boy the title say it all.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page